Welcome to the New “Dreams of Perfection”

Things have been slow around these parts for the past six months.  For this, I apologize.  While everyone is busy, the busy times in my life got the best of me.  Writing for the blog slowed down as work and wedding planning took over my life, and things here at Dreams of Perfection became stale.  So hopefully this overhaul will breathe some new life into the site.  A new layout, a new address (that’s right, I’ve gone dot com), and while I will still write the normal style blog posts, I hope to bring new features in, as well.

As you notice to the right, and the picture below, you’ll see a drawing of typewriter.  This typewriter, drawn by the very talented Christine Mitchell, ties in with an author I’ve always enjoyed, William Faulkner.  The title of the blog, Dreams of Perfection, comes from one of my favorite Faulkner quotes: “All of us failed to match our dreams of perfection. So I rate us on the basis of our splendid failure to do the impossible.”  At Faulkner’s home, Rowan Oak, in Oxford, Mississippi, his famous typewriter still sits on his desk.  The thought of this machine being the vehicle for so many great literary works inspires me.

Thanks Christine, this drawing is perfect to keep me inspired.

One response

Leave a Reply

