Fall Endorsement: Saddle Shoes

As the season changes, so do styles.  This is obvious.  Something even as specific as the saddle shoe is not immune to this fact.  Where things were once white and bright with colors, they are now muddied with the muted colors of fall.  Ipso facto, this makes them a fine addition to anyone’s fall shoe lineup.  To me, tan or brown suede coupled with a brown leather saddle and a red brick sole scream fall.  Wear them with chinos, cords, or jeans… and you’re set.  I’ll be rocking the Cole Haan joints below this fall:

Rugby showing us how it’s done…

Cole Haan

Bass

Billy Reid

Florsheim

Allen Edmonds

There are a ton of brands out there that offer some great versions of this… and at many price points.  But seriously, you’d be hard pressed to find a more perfect fall shoe.

13 responses

  1. I have the J&M’s back when they were hard to get, the Florsheim’s I think are the next best thing.

    Paul: Did you ever pull the trigger on the Red White and Blue pair before they were profiled in GQ and sold out everywhere?

  2. JRS– The Cole Haan saddles are quite nice for what they cost… I’m ordering mine next week.

    DAM– I didn’t pull the trigger on them… I hesitated and missed out after the blew up on GQ. Still regretting that one!

  3. Trip– It’s definitely better looking in person… First time I saw a picture of it, I thought it looked kind of dumb. But I changed my mind after seeing it in the store.

  4. Dumb question, but where are you finding these? I couldn’t find the Cole Haan ones in that color, nor could I find the Rugby ones. Are they available online?

  5. Dave– Not a dumb question at all… The saddle shoes in the Rugby picture are Polo Ralph Lauren saddles… they look great, but I can’t find them anywhere on Polo’s website.

    Also, the Cole Haan’s aren’t available online yet, but you can definitely order them through a Cole Haan store.

  6. For what it’s worth – I have the Cole Haan saddles in white/navy and they’re some of the most comfortable shoes I’ve ever worn. Also, brown suede/leather and a red brick sole is money in my book.

Leave a Reply

