William Faulkner

For those who don’t know, I am quite a William Faulkner fan.  He’s the inspiration for the name of this blog.  Born in New Albany, MS, and raised in my beloved Oxford, MS, he’s written some seriously good stories centered around Mississippi and Southern life.  Around a month ago or so, Garden & Gun linked some recordings from a lecture Faulkner gave to some students at UVA, and it’s quite entertaining.  I suggest giving it a listen… they also had a pretty killer photo gallery of the man as well:

And one more from Life Archives…

William Faulkner has a perfect style and a wit matched by few… give that lecture a listen.

4 responses

  1. Amazing. He’s slowly become one of my favorite authors. Say what you will about Hemingway, but he didn’t have the style of Faulkner. I just read Light in August and it was brilliant.

    Great post and some great photos.

  2. Bob– I agree with you about Hemingway. Hemingway was definitely great, but I prefer the writings of Faulkner. I can just relate to the settings of Faulkner’s stories so much more. Obviously, the Sound and the Fury is a classic and one of my favorites. But I also really enjoyed That Evening Sun…

  3. Thank you, the website of Faulkner at Virginia is a treasure indeed! Faulkner is definitely my favorite author, so I have plenty of things to listen to… 🙂

  4. I didn’t know Faulkner looked prim and proper. I have been associating him with “As I Lay Dying” along with the characters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

