The Rules on Seersucker

Yesterday while on Facebook, I saw Bonobos posted a new picture to plug their new line of seersucker suits.  I’m all about Bonobos, and what they do.  I also think it’s great they are venturing in to the suiting game, especially when their focus is all about fit.  But after reading the caption of said picture on Facebook, it left me kind of confused…

Really??? Through late fall???  Take me through October???

Now this post is not meant to give Bonobos any grief.  I bet this suit is great, and I’d own it myself.  But I just can’t wear seersucker after Labor Day.  It’s all I’ve ever known.  Maybe I conform to the rules to much.  I mean, aren’t rules meant to be broken, bent, or just plain forgotten about?  Apparently… Seersucker is just too “spring and summer” in my opinion.  I guess when thinking of what fall weather is like (in the South), one would be very comfortable in seersucker.  Often times in years past, I’ll still be wearing shorts in to November.  But what about the rest of the country?  Doesn’t it get cool towards the middle/end of September?  To me, this rule just shouldn’t be broken.  There are many other cool-weather fabrics that transition a little better in to the fall season (chambray, madras in muted plaids, etc.).  I don’t know, maybe my thinking is archaic.  But I just think a person will look a lot more perfect this fall with the seersucker stashed away in the closet… but what do you think?

5 responses

  1. If the temperature is 82 degrees or higher it’s perfect for wearing Seersucker , so that means here in New Orleans we can wear Seersucker 8 months out of the year .

  2. Very interesting Haspel… I think the fabric is very functional in warmer weather. And you’re right, it’s warm down here March-October.

    I suppose it’s all personal preference… But I’m an Easter until Labor Day seersucker guy.

  3. I agree completely. Seersucker after labor day is a crime that should carry a stiff penalty and public embarrassment.

  4. My wife & I were just arguing about this. She is a strict traditionalist. But to me, living in the South, where late autumn days are likely to be as hot as the warmest July day we just experienced in New England, it seems like the logic for seersucker and other light suits to be worn past Labor Day is clear and natural. I have been researching the issue, and it seems like the old Labor Day rules are bending – as my wife finally did.

Leave a Reply

