Wants and Desires: Billy Reid Shotgun Case

Billy Reid has been getting a lot of love in the blogosphere this week (here, there, and over yonder).  So naturally, it’s spilling over to today, as well.  Once again, my “wants” have been converted to a “necessity” in my head.  That necessity would be Billy Reid’s Shotgun Case.  Do I hunt?  No, not really.  Do I go shooting that often?  Again, no, not that often at all (but I really do enjoy skeet shooting).  But I’m thinking something this nice to keep a shotgun in might cause me to go shoot more often.  Made with rich pullup leather in Italy, and lined in Shearling, that shotgun should be sitting pretty comfortably while not in use.

Of course, if I were to have one of these cases, I would need to upgrade the gun as well.  But I’ve already got my eye on one.  Those two “needs” would be perfect together.

12 responses

  1. I saw this at the store down at the Hill Center in Nashville. It was freaking amazing. Not as amazing as that Beretta, but pretty damn cool.

  2. These blogs are funny.

    Y’all try WAY too hard to be something you’re not. Let me save you the embarrassment and a couple of thousand dollars by telling you that you are not supposed to store a gun in a zippered case.

    Also, regarding your groundless preference for O/Us, a shotgun is a tool, its not some accessory to make you appear “outdoorsy” or “Southern.”

    I’m not trying to belittle you, I’m just about over seeing you and a few other bloggers (Trip Down South, et al) try SO, SO hard.

    Trust me, you’re not fooling anyone.

  3. Not A. Poser– Thanks for stopping by… I’m glad you can let everyone know how you feel. But I’m pretty sure we don’t know each other at all, and it’s always better to get to know someone before assuming something about them (such as “trying too hard”). We all know what assuming does…

    I’ve loved being outdoors my whole life, and I was born and raised in the South. I’m pretty sure that’s what makes me appear “outdoorsy” and “Southern.” This is not exhibited by my personal preference to an O/U shotgun, as stated by you. As I said, I’m not a big hunter, so I don’t have much of need for a semiautomatic shotgun. O/U’s are often preferred guns for skeet shooting.

    As far as the gun case goes, I realize you don’t store the gun in it, it’s meant for transporting the weapon. But it is a very high quality product made to last, hence the price.

    I appreciate you stopping by, but I’m not the one keeping you here. If you don’t like what you see, find another blog to read. These interwebz are huge I hear!

  4. What I’m trying to say is that there are thousands of kids in this country that won’t have any supper tonight.

    And here you are, stating that a $600 shotgun case is a “necessity” while admitting that you don’t even shoot. I just can’t tolerate this misguided, imposter, hipster consumerism.

  5. Not necessary to take things literally, my friend… obviously, it’s not a necessity. I know that, and I would hope most readers do too. It’s a high-quality product, simple as that. Is there a cheaper gun case you’d like me to write about? If so, email the site; let me know.

    And if you are trying to talk about the “thousands of kids in the country that won’t have supper tonight,” I feel like that would have mentioned in your first post, and not a random attack of character against Trip from A Trip Down South and myself.

    To address my “admitting that [I] don’t even shoot,” you’re right, I currently don’t shoot that often. A full-time job will do that for you. But I used to enjoy it quite a bit. My grandfather used to take me a couple times a month while growing up. It continued into college, when fraternity brothers and I would often visit a skeet shooting range about 30 minutes away from campus.

    You can call me whatever you want, but like I said before, if things around here bother you, nobody is making you read this blog.

  6. Not A. Poser,

    Thanks for great comments about my blog. I’m glad that you’re here to judge who is trying “SO, SO hard” and who isn’t. The blogosphere would be lost without you.

    I agree with Paul. If you don’t like it, stay the hell away from my blog. I started my blog to write about things I like and don’t like. I couldn’t care less about your opinion.

    Oh, and I’ve always stored my shotguns in zippered cases and I love it.

  7. @ Not A. Poser

    I hope you’re hitting the soup kitchens tonight to feed the kids you are mentioning. It’s a tough life for them and if you’re going to bring that stuff up you better be the one leading the pack to take care of it.

    I won’t lie, I could give a shit about a guncase but, I do care about jackballs that feel the need to deem themselves better than others.

    Please sir, this is just bad form. In the future if you’re going to be a hater. Just go back the hypebeast forums.

    Regards,
    PH

  8. Clearly, I have touched a nerve. I suppose my comments were more on point than I had initially thought.

    Paul, I appreciate your replies and I actually respect you more after reading them. No profanity, no name calling just a few well placed remarks.

    Trip, don’t get me started with your blog, it’s the worst of all. How many times will you post about man purses and women’s clothes? How many more days must your parents fear the inevitable?

    PH, I assure you I am not trying to say I’m better than anyone else. I’m simply stating my personal disapproval. I obviously knew that my comment would not be well received but I commented nonetheless; not to offend and certainly not to “be a hater” as you put it, but just to express my opinion. Furthermore, I’m not sure what hypebeast is but from the sound of it, I don’t think I would like it.

  9. Not A. Poser,

    I have better things to do than to get sucked into this inane argument that you are trying to troll up here. Guess you got lucky on someone’s blog who doesn’t moderate their comments. I’ve said all that I need to say.

  10. Not A. Poser,
    I, in turn, appreciate your opinion. Everyone is entitled to one, which is why I don’t moderate these comments and block readers from adding to the discussion. But this is MY blog, and I write about many things that catch my interest. And while socioeconomic issues, such as starving children, are incredibly important (and should be thought of and remembered), this site is not a place where those topics will be written about. There are many other websites where such things can be discussed, and even bring help to those less fortunate. I encourage you, and any other reader, to seek out those sites. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

