Quite Spirited

Bourbon is uniquely American.  To be specific, Bourbon is uniquely Southern.  Along with many people, it is my “spirit” of choice.  I drink it year-round (although gin is also consumed in Spring/Summer, but that’s a different post altogether).  I like it on the rocks, and if it’s cheaper bourbon, I may mix it with Coke.  Now, I’m not going to try and come across as a Bourbon snob, because honestly, I’ll drink any of it.  But I definitely have my preferences…

Pappy Van Winkle

I first tried Pappy Van Winkle during a trip to the Billy Reid store here in Nashville (if you’ve never been to Billy Reid, go now!)… They served me a few sips of the 23 Year batch while I browsed around the store.  To put it in the fewest words possible: the taste might just be life-changing.  At over $200 a bottle though, it’s not something I’d pregame with, if I were you.

As a college student at the University of Mississippi, I definitely kept my bourbon choices more budget conscious.  I was never a huge fan of Evan Williams, so I mostly stuck with Jim Beam.  But game days called for something special.  So I always went for a bottle of Rebel Yell (I’m an Ole Miss fan, so of course I’m drawn to anything with the word “Rebel” printed on the label).  Tailgating in the Grove wouldn’t be complete without it.  Both are pretty good bourbons, and reasonably priced.

Jim Beam and Rebel Yell

This week has been kind of stressful for me at work.  I think I’ll have to head over to Patterson House this evening and imbibe some spirits.  You keep your tequila and vodka… for me, bourbon is perfect.

A Bacon Old Fashioned at Patterson House

2 responses

  1. for the life of me i can’t remember how i tripped across the blog, but i very much enjoy it. i’m a bourbon man myself, and while i agree that gin has its time and place, it’s nice to be back in brown water season. looking forward to reading more… cheers from Texas.

  2. I love Bourbon Manhattan’s! My family would mix a pitcher on Friday’s for cocktails. We would start with a fifth of bourbon, a half-cup of sweet vermouth and a quarter-cup of the juice from the Maraschino Cherries bottle. It was a drink that generations could enjoy together. The Manhattan’s I mixed on the 2nd night of my grandfather’s wake in 1987 became a family legend. We ran out of Maraschino Cherry juice and I was going to have to go to a store and buy more. I wanted to drink; not be out in the car buying Maraschino Cherries. I suddenly discovered 2 or 3 bottles of prescription strength codeine fortified cough medicine on the refrigerator door. It was July and from the dates on the bottles I knew no one would miss them.

Leave a Reply

